• Press Release
  • April 14, 2017

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2017


Barbara H. Fiser
American Economic Association
Phone: (615) 322-3731
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu

NASHVILLE, TN (April 14, 2017) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the "Best Paper Awards" of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting, January 5-7, 2018, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner.  A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Members award is presented to foreign economists of distinction. Honorees are elected by the American Economic Association’s Executive Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) "Best Paper Awards" highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. A list of current and past AEJ Best Paper Award winners is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

A list of the 2017 award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit http://www.vanderbilt.edu/AEA/.

The American Economic Association Awards Results

John Bates Clark Medalist

Dave Donaldson, Stanford University

Distinguished Fellows

James Heckman, University of Chicago
Charles Manski, Northwestern University
Robert Pollak, Washington University in St. Louis
Nancy Stokey, University of Chicago

Foreign Honorary Members

Philippe Aghion, France
Ernst Fehr, Austria

American Economic Journal (AEJ) "Best Paper Awards"
Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Market-Based Lobbying: Evidence from Advertising Spending in Italy," by Stefano DellaVigna, Ruben Durante, Brian Knight, and Eliana La Ferrara 8(1), (pp. 224-256) January 2016

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Of Mice and Academics: Examining the Effect of Openness on Innovation," by Fiona Murray, Philippe Aghion, Mathias Dewatripont, Julian Kolev, and Scott Stern 8(1), (pp. 212-252) February 2016

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "Understanding the Great Recession," by Lawrence J. Christiano, Martin S. Eichenbaum, and Mathias Trabandt 7(1), (pp. 110-167) January 2015

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Investing in Skill and Searching for Coworkers: Endogenous Participation in a Matching Market," by Chris Bidner, Guillaume Roger, and Jessica Moses 8(1), (pp. 166-202) February 2016

About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 20,000 members, the Association publishes the American Economic Review (AER), Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP), and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics. More information can be found at http://www.vanderbilt.edu/AEA, or by contacting Barbara H. Fiser at barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu.