• Press Release
  • April 20, 2018

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2018


Barbara H. Fiser
American Economic Association
Phone: (615) 322-3731
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu

NASHVILLE, TN (April 20, 2018) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the "Best Paper Awards" of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting, January 4-6, 2019, in Atlanta, Georgia.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner.  A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) "Best Paper Awards" highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. A list of current and past AEJ Best Paper Award winners is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

A list of the 2018 award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit https://www.AEAweb.org.

The American Economic Association Awards Results

John Bates Clark Medalist

Parag Pathak, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Distinguished Fellows

Henry Aaron, Brookings Institute
Francine Blau, Cornell University
Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University
Richard Posner, University of Chicago

American Economic Journal (AEJ) "Best Paper Awards"
Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "The Persistent Effect of Temporary Affirmative Action," by Conrad Miller 9(3), (pp. 152-190) July 2017

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Income, the Earned Income Tax Credit, and Infant Health," by Hilary Hoynes, Doug Miller, and David Simon 7(1), (pp. 172-211) February 2015

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "Gender Gaps and the Rise of the Service Economy," by L. Rachel Ngai and Barbara Petrongolo 9(4), (pp. 1-44) October 2017

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Collective Self-Control," by Alessandro Lizzeri and Leeat Yariv 9(3), (pp. 213-244) August 2017

About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 20,000 members, the Association publishes the American Economic Review (AER), Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP), AEA Papers and Proceedings, and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics. More information can be found at https://www.AEAweb.org, or by contacting Barbara H. Fiser at barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu.