• Press Release
  • May 2, 2023

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2023


Barbara H. Fiser
American Economic Association
Phone: (615) 322-3731
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu

NASHVILLE, TN (May 2, 2023) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the Best Paper Awards of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting in January 2024.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner.  A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Members award is presented to foreign economists of distinction. Honorees are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee upon recommendation from the Honors and Awards Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. A list of current and past AEJ Best Paper Award winners is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

A list of the 2023 spring award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit https://www.AEAweb.org.

The American Economic Association Spring Awards

John Bates Clark Medalist

Gabriel Zucman, University of California, Berkeley

Distinguished Fellows

Guillermo Calvo, Columbia University
Drew Fudenberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Olivia Mitchell, University of Pennsylvania
Maurice Obstfeld, University of California, Berkeley

Foreign Honorary Members

Manuel Arellano, CEMFI
Mathias Dewatripont, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Eduardo Engel, University of Chile
Sergei Guriev, Sciences Po
Ekaterina Zhuravskaya, Paris School of Economics

American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards 
Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "The Evolution of Work in the United States," by Enghin Atalay, Phai Phongthiengtham, Sebastian Sotelo, and Daniel Tannenbaum 12(2), (pp. 1-34) April 2020

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Technology, Taxation, and Corruption: Evidence from the Introduction of Electronic Tax Filing," by Oyebola Okunogbe and Victor Pouliquen 14(1), (pp. 341-72) February 2022 

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "The Rise of the Machines: Automation, Horizontal Innovation, and Income Inequality," by David Hémous and Morten Olsen 14(1), (pp. 179-223) January 2022

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Common Ownership in America: 1980–2017," by Matthew Backus, Christopher Conlon, and Michael Sinkinson 13(3), (pp. 273-308) August 2021  

About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 17,000 members, the AEA publishes the American Economic Review (AER)AER: Insights (AERI)Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP)AEA Papers and Proceedings, and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics. The AEA is focused on improving the professional climate of economics through its committees, workshops, resources, and more. Information can be found at https://www.AEAweb.org, or by contacting Barbara H. Fiser at barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu.