Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession

CSWEP is a standing committee of the American Economic Association charged with promoting the careers and monitoring the progress of women economists in academia, government agencies and elsewhere. Learn more about CSWEP.

CSWEP Chair and Board

The CSWEP Chair, Professor Judy Chevalier, is currently housed in the School of Management at Yale University.  View the full list of current CSWEP Board Members.

Upcoming Events and Deadlines


Award Winners

Joyce Jacobsen, 2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Recipient

Dr. Joyce P. Jacobsen, President of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, is the recipient of the 2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. Professor Jacobsen is the first woman to serve as the president of Hobart and William Smith Colleges.  Dr. Jacobsen is an important scholar of labor economics and the economics of gender. Her textbook, The Economics of Gender has become the standard in the field.  In addition to her scholarship, Professor Jacobsen is an award-winning teacher, generous citizen of the profession, an exceptional advisor and mentor, and a respected and skillful academic leader. This award will be presented at the CSWEP business meeting at the (virtual) AEA meetings on January 7, 2022 at 2:30 pm ET.

Visit the awards page for the full announcement.


Contact CSWEP

Questions? Contact Rebekah Loftis, CSWEP Committee Coordinator,

Follow CSWEP